We won’t stop now!

PanCAN SCIENTIFIC SUMMIT 2020 | FRIDAY, AUGUST 21

TAKING BOLD ACTION. TOGETHER!

PANCREATIC CANCER DOES NOT STOP OR SLOW DOWN, AND NEITHER DO WE. THIS YEAR WE’LL COME TOGETHER VIRTUALLY AS WE KEEP FIGHTING FOR TODAY’S PATIENTS AND THOSE IN THE FUTURE.

PanCAN Scientific Summit 2020 introduces you to new PanCAN research grant recipients, includes the latest information about our top research initiatives, shares updates on research being done by PanCAN’s young investigators and senior research grant recipients, and allows time for collaboration and participation in discussions about emerging science in the field.


Members of PanCAN’s Scientific and Medical Advisory Board, patient research advocates, PanCAN grantees, industry partners, scientific and clinical leaders and PanCAN’s dedicated supporters will attend.


Though we can’t be together in person, we need you now more than ever to welcome our new class of grantees into our community and ensure a robust exchange of scientific information and ideas. Our research community is stronger when we collaborate. Thank you for joining us as we keep pancreatic cancer research and progress moving forward.


REGISTER TO ATTEND

August 21, 2020 | 8:00 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. Pacific / 11:00 a.m – 3:45 p.m. Eastern

8 – 8:25 a.m.

Welcome and PanCAN Update

Julie Fleshman, JD, MBA, President and CEO, PanCAN

8:25 – 8:30 a.m.

Community for Progress and Annual Scientific Summit Overview

Andrew Lowy, MD, FACS, University of California, San Diego, and Chair, Scientific & Medical Advisory Board

8:30 – 8:35 a.m.

Early Career Grantee Highlight

Ingunn Stromnes, PhD, University of Minnesota Medical School

8:35 – 9:05 a.m.

Early Detection Initiative and Early Detection Targeted Grants

Suresh Chari, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Study PI

Panel Discussion:

Lynn Matrisian, PhD, MBA, Chief Science Officer, PanCAN, Moderator
Gloria Petersen, PhD, Mayo Clinic
Anirban Maitra, MBBS, MD Anderson Cancer Center
Kenneth Zaret, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Rosalie Sears, PhD, Oregon Health & Science University

9:05 – 10:55 a.m.

Junior Investigator Grants Presentations with Patient Research Advocates and Scientific & Medical Advisory Board Discussants

9:05 – 9:25

Andrew Aguirre, MD, PhD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

(PRA: Martha Suess; Discussant: Channing Der, PhD)

9:25 – 9:45

Karen Mann, PhD, Moffitt Cancer Center

(PRA: Teona Ducre; Discussant: Rosalie Sears, PhD)

9:45 – 9:55

Break

9:55 – 10:15

Rohit Chandwani, MD, PhD, NewYork-Presbyterian Weill Cornell Medical Center

(PRA: Cathy Schwandt; Discussant: Howard Crawford, PhD)

10:15 – 10:35

Wantong Yao, MD, PhD, MD Anderson Cancer Center

(PRA: Roberta Luna; Discussant: Dafna Bar Sagi, PhD)

10:35 – 10:55

Ethan Abel, PhD, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

(PRA: Kay Kays; Discussant: Michael Hollingsworth, PhD)

10:55 – 11:00 a.m.

Donor Highlight

Joanie and Scott Kriens, co-creators, 1440 Foundation

11:00 – 11:15 a.m.

Precision Promise Update

Diane Simeone, MD, NYU Langone Health, Chair, Precision Promise Steering Committee

Q&A

11:15 – 11:25 a.m.

Break

11:25 – 11:30 a.m.

Advocacy Highlight

Kirsten Bryant, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

11:30 – 11:45 a.m.

SPARK

Sudheer Doss, PhD, Chief Data Officer, PanCAN
Eric Collisson, MD, University of California, San Francisco

Q&A

11:45 – 11:50 a.m.

Industry Highlight

11:50 a.m. – 12:10 p.m.

Translational Research Grant Presentation

Aatur Singhi, MD, PhD, University of Pittsburgh

Q&A

12:10 – 12:15 p.m.

PurpleStride Highlight

Joe Krebs, Pancreatic Cancer Survivor, PurpleStride Washington DC Team Captain

12:15 – 12:35 p.m.

Research Acceleration Network Grant Presentation

David Linehan, MD, University of Rochester

Q&A

12:35 – 12:45 p.m.

Closing Remarks

Andrew Lowy

Julie Fleshman

presenter image

Julie M. Fleshman, JD, MBA

President and Chief Executive Officer, PanCAN

presenter image

Sudheer Doss, PhD

Chief Data Officer, PanCAN

presenter image

Lynn Matrisian, PhD, MBA

Chief Science Officer, PanCAN

presenter image

Ethan Abel, PhD

Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

2016 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Pathway to Leadership Grant

Project: The Role and Regulation of HNF1A in Pancreatic Cancer Cells

presenter image

Andrew Aguirre, MD, PhD

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

2018 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Catalyst Grant in memory of Skip Viragh

Project: Functional Genetic Discovery of Novel Targets in Pancreatic Cancer

presenter image

Rohit Chandwani, MD, PhD

New York-Presbyterian Weill Cornell Medical Center

2016 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Pathway to Leadership Grant

Project: Epigenetic Plasticity of Pancreatic Adenocarcinoma

presenter image

Suresh Chari, MD

MD Anderson Cancer Center

PanCAN Scientific and Medical Advisory Board

Project Lead: Early Detection Initiative

presenter image

Johannes Fahrmann, PhD

MD Anderson Cancer Center

2017 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Early Detection Targeted Grant

Principal Investigators: Anirban Maitra, MBBS and Samir Hanash, MD, PhD

Project: Optimizing biomarker combinations for pancreatic cancer early detection

presenter image

David Linehan, MD

University of Rochester Medical Center

2016 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Research Acceleration Network-2 Grant in memory of Shirley Sadoff

Project: Targeting Macrophages to Improve Chemotherapy in Metastatic Pancreas Cancer

presenter image

Andrew M. Lowy, MD, FACS

University of California, San Diego

PanCAN Scientific and Medical Advisory Board Chair

presenter image

Anirban Maitra, MBBS

MD Anderson Cancer Center

PanCAN Scientific and Medical Advisory Board

2017 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Early Detection Targeted Grant

Co-Principal Investigator: Samir Hanash, MD, PhD

Project: Optimizing biomarker combinations for pancreatic cancer early detection

presenter image

Karen Mann, PhD

Moffitt Cancer Center

2018 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Career Development Award in memory of Skip Viragh

Project: RBFOX2-Mediated Alternative Splicing in Pancreatic Cancer Metastasis

presenter image

Gloria Petersen, PhD

Mayo Clinic

PanCAN Scientific and Medical Advisory Board

2017 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Early Detection Targeted Grant

Project: Early detection of PDAC in new-onset diabetes and other cohorts

presenter image

Rosalie Sears, PhD

Oregon Health & Science University

PanCAN Scientific and Medical Advisory Board

2017 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Early Detection Targeted Grant

Co-Principal investigator: Brett Sheppard

Project: Blood-based and Imaging Biomarkers of PDAC in New-onset Diabetes

presenter image

Diane Simeone, MD

Perlmutter Cancer Center/NYU Langone Health

PanCAN Scientific and Medical Advisory Board

PROJECT LEAD: PanCAN's Precision PromiseSM

presenter image

Aatur Singhi, MD, PhD

University of Pittsburgh

2016 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Translational Research Grant

Project: Diagnostic Markers of Malignant Transformation in Mucinous Pancreatic Cysts

presenter image

Wantong Yao, MD, PhD

MD Anderson Cancer Center

2016 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network – AACR Pathway to Leadership Grant in memory of Carina Rogerson

Project: Syndecan-1 is a Novel Regulator for Nutrient Salvage Pathway

presenter image

Kenneth Zaret

University of Pennsylvania

2017 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Early Detection Targeted Grant

Project: Early detection of PDAC in new-onset diabetes and other cohorts

Ethan Abel, PhD
Grantee
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
ethan.abel@roswellpark.org

Ilknur Acarlar, PhD, MBA
Industry
Bristol Myers Squibb
ilknur.acarlar@bms.com

Andrew Aguirre, MD, PhD
Grantee
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Andrew_Aguirre@dfci.harvard.edu

Jennifer Bailey, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Texas
jennifer.m.bailey@uth.tmc.edu

Dafna Bar-Sagi, PhD
SMAB, Past Grantee
Perlmutter Cancer Center/ NYU Langone Health 
dafna.bar-sagi@nyumc.org

Bristi Basu, PhD
Scientific Review Committee
University of Cambridge
bristi.basu@cruk.cam.ac.uk

Susan Bates, MD
Grantee
Columbia University
seb2227@cumc.columbia.edu

Jordan Berlin, MD
SMAB
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
jordan.berlin@vanderbilt.edu

Kimberly Blackwell, MD
Industry
Tempus
ashley.adams@tempus.com

Vladimir Bogdanov, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Cincinnati
vladimir.bogdanov@uc.edu

Darlene Boytell-Perz, APRN
Health Care Provider
Gastro Health
dboytellperez@gmail.com

Josefa Briceno, MD
Industry
AstraZeneca
Josefa.Briceno@astrazeneca.com

Kirsten Bryant, PhD
Grantee
University of North Carolina
bryantkl@email.unc.edu

Erica Carpenter, MBA, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Pennsylvania
erical@upenn.edu

Rohit Chandwani, MD, PhD 
Grantee
Weill Cornell Medicine
roc9045@med.cornell.edu

Suresh Chari, MD
SMAB
MD Anderson Cancer Center
stchari@mdanderson.org

Yuan Chen, PhD
Grantee
University of California, San Diego
yuc020@ucsd.edu

Christine Chio, PhD
Grantee
Columbia University
ic2445@cumc.columbia.edu

Eric Collisson, MD
SMAB, Past Grantee
University of California, San Francisco
Eric.Collisson@ucsf.edu

Cosimo Commisso, PhD
Past Grantee
SBP Medical Discovery Institute
ccommisso@sbpdiscovery.org

Nicholas Cosford, PhD
Grantee
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
ncosford@sbp.edu

Michelle Cosgrove, MS
Industry
AstraZeneca
Michelle.Cosgrove1@astrazeneca.com

Octavio Costa, MD
Industry
Rafael
Octavio.Costa@rafaelpharma.com

Howard Crawford, PhD
SMAB
University of Michigan
howcraw@umich.edu

Michael Curran, PhD
Grantee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
mcurran@mdanderson.org

Giuseppe Del Priore, MD, MPH 
Industry
Tyme
Giuseppe.DelPriore@TYMEINC.COM

Gina DeNicola, PhD
Past Grantee
Moffitt Cancer Center
Gina.DeNicola@moffitt.org

Channing Der, PhD 
SMAB, Grantee
University of North Carolina
cjder@med.unc.edu

Jason Doles, PhD 
Past Grantee
Mayo Clinic
doles.jason@mayo.edu

Sudheer Doss, PhD 
Chief Data Officer
PanCAN
sdoss@pancan.org

Stephanie Dougan, PhD
Past Grantee, Translational Research Committee
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Stephanie_Dougan@DFCI.HARVARD.EDU

Giulio Draetta, MD, PhD
Past Grantee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
gdraetta@mdanderson.org

Teona Ducre
Special Guest, Survivor
PanCAN Patient Research Advocate
tducre@pancanvolunteer.org

Luisa Escobar-Hoyas, PhD 
Grantee
Yale University
luisa.escobar-hoyos@yale.edu

Ramon Espaillat, MD
Industry
Abbvie
ramon.espaillat@abbvie.com

Peter Espenshade, PhD
Past Grantee
Johns Hopkins University
peter.espenshade@jhmi.edu

Johannes Fahrmann
Special Guest
MD Anderson Cancer Center
JFFahrmann@mdanderson.org

James Farrell, MD
Emeritus SMAB
Yale University
james.j.farrell@yale.edu

Lola Fashoyin-Aje, MD, MPH
Special Guest
Food and Drug Administration

George Fisher, MD, PhD
SMAB
Stanford University
georgeaf@stanford.edu

Julie Fleshman, JD, MBA
President and CEO 
PanCAN
jfleshman@pancan.org

Kurt Giles, PhD
Researcher
University of California, San Francisco
kurt.giles@ucsf.edu

Brian Gill
Industry
Tyme
brian.gill@tymeinc.com

Sharon Gorski, PhD
Grantee, SRC
British Columbia Cancer Agency Branch
sgorski@bcgsc.ca

Paul Grippo, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Illinois at Chicago 
pgrippo@uic.edu

Tom Halliwell
Industry
Ipsen
tom.halliwell@ipsen.com

William Hawkins, MD
Past Grantee
Washington University
hawkinsw@wustl.edu

Andrew Hendifar, MD
Precision Promise Steering Committee
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Andrew.Hendifar@cshs.org

Manuel Hidalgo, MD, PhD
SMAB, Precision Promise Steering Committee
Weill Cornell Medicine
Mah4006@med.cornell.edu

Sunil Hingorani, MD, PhD 
SMAB, Grantee, Translational Research Committee 
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
srh@fhcrc.org

Michael Hollingsworth, PhD
SMAB
University of Nebraska Medical Center 
mahollin@unmc.edu

Michael Hu, PhD
Industry
Rafael
mike.hu@rafaelpharam.com

Steven Hughes, MD
Past Grantee
University of Florida
steven.hughes@surgery.ufl.edu

Christine Iacobuzio-Donahue, MD, PhD 
Emeritus SMAB, Past Grantee
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
iacobuzc@mskcc.org

Kay Kays
Special Guest, Survivor
PanCAN Patient Research Advocate
k.kays@cox.net

Kimberly Kelly, PhD
Emeritus SMAB, Past Grantee 
University of Virginia
kak3x@virginia.edu

Alison Klein, MHS, PhD
SMAB
Johns Hopkins University
aklein1@jhmi.edu

Jens Kort, MD, PhD
Industry
Abbvie
jens.kort@abbvie.com

Joseph Krebs
Special Guest, Survivor
PurpleStride Washington DC Team Captain
jmkrebsjr@aol.com

Joanie Kriens
Special Guest, Survivor
1440 Foundation

Scott Kriens
Special Guest
1440 Foundation

Paul Kurywchak, PhD
Industry
Skipper BioMed, LLC
paul@skipperbiomed.com

Helen Lau
Industry
Novartis
helenj.lau@novartis.com

Steven D. Leach, MD
SMAB Health Data Committee
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Norris Cotton Cancer Center
sdl@dartmouth.edu

Brian Lewis, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Massachusetts
brian.lewis@umassmed.edu

Fengzhi Li, PhD
Grantee
Roswell Park Comprehensive Center
fengzhi.li@roswellpark.org

Karen Liby, PhD
Scientific Review Committee
Michigan State University 
libykare@msu.edu

Thomas Lila, PhD
Industry
Bristol Myers Squibb
thomas.lila@bms.com

Kian-Haut Lim, MD, PhD
Past Grantee
Washington University
 kian-huat.lim@wustl.edu

David Linehan, MD 
Grantee
University of Rochester Medical Center
david_linehan@urmc.rochester.edu

Yilun Liu, PhD
Grantee
Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope
yiliu@coh.org

Andrew Lowy, MD, FACS
SMAB, Grantee
University of California, San Diego
alowy@ucsd.edu

Roberta Luna
Special Guest, Survivor
PanCAN Patient Research Advocate
rluna@pancanvolunteer.org

Sanjeev Luther
Industry
Rafael
Sanjeev.Luther@rafaelpharma.com

Costas Lyssiotis, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Michigan
clyssiot@med.umich.edu

Subha Madhavan, PhD
Past Grantee
Georgetown University
sm696@georgetown.edu

Sanjana Mahapatra, PhD
Industry
Skipper BioMed, LLC
sanjana@skipperbiomed.com

Anirban Maitra, MBBS
SMAB, Grantee, Precision Promise Steering Committee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
amaitra@mdanderson.org

Mokenge Malafa, MD
Emeritus SMAB
Moffitt Cancer Center
mokenge.malafa@moffitt.org

Margaret Mandelson, PhD
Emeritus SMAB
Benaroya Research Institute
mmandelson@benaroyaresearch.org

Karen Mann, PhD
Grantee
Moffitt Cancer Center
Karen.Mann@moffitt.org

Ann Martin
PRA
PanCAN Patient Research Advocate
amartin@pancanvolunteer.org

Lynn Matrisian, PhD, MBA
Chief Science Officer
PanCAN
lmatrisian@pancan.org

Debbie McGarity
Industry
Ipsen
debbie.mcgarity@ipsen.com

Kamiya Mehla, PhD
Researcher
University of Nebraska Medical Center
kamiya.mehla@unmc.edu

Nipun Merchant, MD
SMAB, Past Grantee
University of Miami
nmerchant@miami.edu

Steven Merlin
PRA
PanCAN Patient Research Advocate
smerlin@pancanvolunteer.org

Jeannine Mills, MS, RD, CSO, LD
SMAB
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
Jeannine.B.Mills@hitchcock.org

Alexander Muir, PhD
Grantee
University of Chicago
amuir@uchicago.edu

Paul Oberstein, MD
Past Grantee
Perlmutter Cancer Center/ NYU Langone Health
paul.oberstein@nyulangone.org

Eileen O'Reilly, MD 
SMAB
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
oreillye@mskcc.org

Tatyana Panchenko, PhD 
Researcher
Perlmutter Cancer Center/ NYU Langone Health
tatyana.panchenko@nyulangone.org

Susana Parathath, PhD
Industry
Bristol Myers Squibb
sparathath@celgene.com

Krushna Patra, PhD
Grantee
University of Cincinnati
patraka@ucmail.uc.edu

Marina Pasca Di Magliano, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Michigan
marina@umich.edu

Gloria Petersen, PhD
SMAB, Grantee
Mayo Clinic 
petersen.gloria@mayo.edu

Maria Petzel, RD, CSO, LD, CNSC Emeritus
SMAB
MD Anderson Cancer Center
mpetzel@mdanderson.org

Philip Philip, MD, PhD
SMAB
Karmanos Cancer Institute
philipp@karmanos.org

Vincent Picozzi, MD
SMAB, Precision Promise Steering Committee
Virginia Mason
hemvjp@vmmc.org

Daniel Pierce, PhD
Industry
Bristol Myers Squibb
daniel.pierce@bms.com

Michael Pishvaian, MD, PhD
Past Grantee, Translational Research Committee
Johns Hopkins University
mpishva1@jhmi.edu

Yuliya Pylayeva-Gupta, PhD 
Past Grantee
University of North Carolina
yuliyap1@email.unc.edu

Xiaoyang Qi, PhD
Grantee
University of Cincinnati
xiaoyang.qi@uc.edu

Lola Rahib, PhD
Translational Research Committee
Cancer Commons
lola.rahib@cancercommons.org

Mustafa Raoof, MD, FACS 
Grantee
Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope
mraoof@coh.org

Anne Marie Robertson
Industry
Ipsen
annemarie.robertson@ipsen.com

John Robinson, PhD
Industry
Novartis
john.robinson@novartis.com

Anil Rustgi, MD
Emeritus SMAB/ Past Grantee
Columbia University
akr2164@cumc.columbia.edu

Cathy Schwandt
Special Guest, Survivor
PanCAN Patient Research Advocate
cschwandt@pancanvolunteer.org

Rosalie Sears, PhD
SMAB, Past Grantee
Oregon Health & Science University
searsr@ohsu.edu

Juan Carlos Serna
Industry
AngioDynamics
JCSerna@AngioDynamics.com

Brett Sheppard, MD
Grantee
Oregon Health & Science University
sheppard@ohsu.edu

Kenneth Shroyer, MD, PhD
Grantee, SRC
Stony Brook University
Kenneth.Shroyer@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Diane Simeone, MD
SMAB, Past Grantee, Precision Promise Steering Committee 
Perlmutter Cancer Center/ NYU Langone Health 
diane.simeone@nyumc.org

Amber Simpson, PhD
Past Grantee
Queen's University 
amber.simpson@queensu.ca

Kamini Singh, PhD
Past Grantee
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
singhk2@mskcc.org

Pankaj Singh, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Nebraska Medical Center 
pankaj.singh@unmc.edu

Aartur Singhi, MD, PhD
Grantee
University of Pittsburgh
singhiad@upmc.edu

Jill Smith, MD
Grantee
Georgetown University
jps261@georgetown.edu

Matthew Squires
Industry
Novartis
matthew.squires@novartis.com

Dustin Srinivas, PhD
Industry
Skipper BioMed, LLC
dustin@skipperbiomed.com

Dustin Srinivas
Industry
Skipper BioMed, LLC
dustin@skipperbiomed.com

Ben Stanger, MD, PhD
Past Grantee
University of Pennsylvania
bstanger@exchange.upenn.edu

Blair Stephenson
Industry
Atrium Health
blair.stephenson@atriumhealth.org

Peter Storz, PhD
Past Grantee
Mayo Clinic 
storz.peter@mayo.edu

Peter Strack
Industry
Bristol Myers Squibb
peter.strack@bms.com

Ingunn Stromnes, PhD
Grantee
University of Minnesota- Twin Cities
ingunn@umn.edu

Gloria Huei-Ting Su, PhD
Past Grantee
Columbia University
gs2157@columbia.edu

Martha Suess
Special Guest, Caregiver
PanCAN Patient Research Advocate
pcmzsuess@gmail.com

Amy Tang, PhD
Past Grantee
Eastern Virginia Medical School
tangah@evms.edu

Margaret Tempero, MD
SMAB
University of California, San Francisco
mtempero@medicine.ucsf.edu

David Ting, MD
Past Grantee
Massachusetts General Hospital
dting1@mgh.harvard.edu

Hilary Turnberg, BSN, RN
SMAB
Virginia Mason
hilary.turnberg@gmail.com

Linda Upchurch
Industry
AngioDynamics
LUpchurch@AngioDynamics.com

Sridhar Vempati, PhD, MBA
Industry
Rafael
sridhar.vempati@rafaelpharma.com

Matt Verlinden Industry
Ipsen
matt.verlinden@ipsen.com

Robert Vonderheide, MD
Emeritus SMAB, Past Grantee
University of Pennsylvania
rhv@upenn.edu

Timothy Wang, MD
Past Grantee
Columbia University
tcw21@cumc.columbia.edu

Nadav Weinberg
Industry
Tempus
nadav.weinberg@tempus.com

Brian Wolpin, MD, MPH
Past Grantee
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
brian_wolpin@dfci.harvard.edu

Wantong Yao, MD, PhD
Grantee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
wyao2@mdanderson.org

Robert Young, PhD, MC, FRSC
Grantee
Simon Fraser University
roberty@sfu.ca

Kenneth Zaret, PhD
Grantee
University of Pennsylvania
zaret@upenn.edu

Looking back

Last year’s Scientific Summit kicked off a year to remember. We won’t stop now!


Follow us

Thank you to our Scientific & Medical Affairs Industry Members

PREVIEW RESEARCH PRESENTATION VIDEOS: FOR SCIENTISTS ONLY

Log In