PanCAN Scientific Summit 2021

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 15

Join us at PanCAN Scientific Summit 2021 to meet new PanCAN research grant recipients, hear the latest about our top research initiatives, get updates on research being done by PanCAN’s young investigators and senior research grant recipients, and be part of engaging discussions about emerging science in the field.


Members of PanCAN’s Scientific & Medical Advisory Board, patient research advocates, industry partners, scientific and clinical leaders and special guests will attend.


We will welcome the new class of grantees into our Community for Progress and ensure a robust exchange of scientific information and ideas at this year’s virtual event.


PanCAN’s Community for Progress builds the pancreatic cancer research field, providing grantees with mentorship, networking, resources and ongoing career support.


Our research community is stronger when we collaborate. Thank you for joining us as we keep pancreatic cancer research and progress moving forward.



REGISTER TO ATTEND

October 15, 2021 | 8 a.m. ⁠–⁠ 1 p.m. Pacific / 11 a.m ⁠–⁠ 4 p.m. Eastern

8:00 — 8:25 a.m.

Welcome and PanCAN Overview

Introducing the 2021 PanCAN Grant Recipients

Julie Fleshman, JD, MBA, President and Chief Executive Officer, PanCAN

8:25 — 8:30 a.m.

Community for Progress and Annual Scientific Summit Overview

Margaret Tempero, MD, University of California, San Francisco and Chair, PanCAN Scientific & Medical Advisory Board

8:30 — 9:00 a.m.

PanCan's Precision Promise℠ and Precision Medicine Targeted Grant

Anne-Marie Duliege, MD, Chief Medical Officer, PanCAN


Q&A


Gregory Beatty, MD, PhD, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

2017 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Precision Medicine Targeted Grant in memory of Skip Viragh

Multiplex Tissue-based Assays and Analytical Tools for Pancreatic Cancer


Q&A

9:00 — 9:05 a.m.

Industry Highlight

9:05 — 9:25 a.m.

PanCAN's Early Detection Initiative

Lynn Matrisian, PhD, MBA, Chief Science Officer, PanCAN

Suresh Chari, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Bechien Wu, MD, MPH, Kaiser Permanente Southern California


Q&A

9:25 — 9:40 a.m.

Break

9:40 — 9:55 a.m.

Catalyst Grant Presentation

Iok In Christine Chio, PhD, Columbia University

2018 The Ruth and Frank Pratte Foundation Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Catalyst Award

Targeting Redox Status and mRNA Translation in Pancreatic Cancer

9:55 — 11:20 a.m.

Mini Symposium Breakout Rooms

10:00 — 10:20 A.M.

Translational Research Grants Plus Track

Fengzhi Li, PhD, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Translational Research Grant

Validation of Targets as Biomarkers for Targeted Pancreatic Cancer Therapy


Career Development Awards Track

Gillian Gresham, PhD, Cedars‑Sinai Medical Center

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Career Development Award in memory of Skip Viragh

Evaluating Objective Measures of Physical Function in Pancreatic Cancer

10:20 — 10:40 A.M.

Translational Research Grants Plus Track

Xiaoyang Qi, PhD, University of Cincinnati

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Translational Research Grant

Immunotherapy for Pancreatic Cancer by Saposin C‑based Nanovesicles


Career Development Awards Track

Alexander Muir, PhD, University of Chicago

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Career Development Award

Microenvironment Induced Metabolic Requirements of Pancreatic Cancers

10:40 — 11:00 A.M.

Translational Research Grants Plus Track

Susan Bates, MD, Columbia University

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Translational Research Grant

Exploiting a Metabolic Vulnerability Created by Epigenetic Therapy


Career Development Awards Track

Daria Esterházy, PhD, University of Chicago

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Career Development Award

Intestinal Control of Pancreatic Exocrine Immunity

11:00 — 11:20 A.M.

Translational Research Grants Plus Track

Mustafa Raoof, MD, FACS, Beckman Research Institute of the City of Hope

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Career Development Award in memory of Skip Viragh

Targeting Transcription-Replication Conflicts in Pancreatic Cancer


Career Development Awards Track

Krushna Patra, PhD, University of Cincinnati

2020 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Career Development Award funded, by Steven & Cheryl Kole and Harriet & Gerald Berner Family Charitable Fund

Delineating Oncogenic Circuitries of GNAS Mutant Pancreatic Neoplasms

11:20 — 11:30 a.m.

Break

11:30 — 11:35 a.m.

PanCAN Highlight

11:35 — 11:50 a.m.

PanCAN's SPARK: A Platform for Collaborative Access and Analysis of PanCAN Health Data

Eric Collisson, MD, University of California, San Francisco

Sudheer Doss, PhD, Chief Business Officer, PanCAN

Kawther Abdilleh, PhD, Associate Director, Health Data Analytics, PanCAN


Q&A

11:50 — 12:00 p.m.

Break

12:00 — 12:20 p.m.

Research Acceleration Network Grant Presentation

Channing Der, PhD, University of North Carolina

2015 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network – AACR Research Acceleration Network Grant

Defining Novel Combination KRAS-targeted Therapeutic Strategies

Special comment from Patient Research Advocate: Elliot Weinstein

12:20 — 12:25 p.m.

PurpleStride Highlight

12:25 — 12:45 p.m.

Research Acceleration Network Grant Presentation

Jonathan Brody, PhD, Oregon Health & Science University

2015 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network – AACR Research Acceleration Network Grant

Developing an Algorithm for Molecular Tailored Therapy

Special comment from Patient Research Advocate: Lisa Baertlein

12:45 — 1:00 p.m.

Closing Remarks

Julie Fleshman

Margaret Tempero

Ethan Abel, PhD
Grantee
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
ethan.abel@roswellpark.org

Haleh Amirian, MD
Researcher
University of Miami
sxa1412@med.miami.edu

Susan Bates, MD
Grantee
Columbia University
seb2227@cumc.columbia.edu

Jordan Berlin, MD
SMAB
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
jordan.berlin@vumc.org

Jonathan Brody, PhD
Grantee
Oregon Health & Science University
brodyj@ohsu.edu

Victoire Cardot-Ruffino, PhD
Grantee
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Victoire_Cardot@DFCI.HARVARD.EDU

Rohit Chandwani, MD, PhD
Grantee
Weill Cornell Medicine
roc9045@med.cornell.edu

Anna Chiarella, PhD
Researcher
Columbia University
Ac4577@cumc.Columbia.edu

Eric Collisson, MD
SMAB, Grantee, SPARK
University of California, San Francisco
Eric.Collisson@ucsf.edu

Michael Curran, PhD
Grantee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
mcurran@mdanderson.org

Sudheer Doss, PhD
Chief Data Officer
PanCAN
sdoss@pancan.org

Dannielle Engle, PhD
Grantee
Salk Institute
engle@salk.edu

Jesus Fabregas, MD, MPH, FACP
Researcher
University of Florida
jesus.fabregas@medicine.ufl.edu

Ralph Francescone, PhD
Grantee
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Ralph.Francescone@fccc.edu

Sharon Gorski, PhD
Grantee
British Columbia Cancer Agency Branch
sgorski@bcgsc.ca

Tracey Hanover
Industry
Novocure
thanover@novocure.com

Joseph Herman, MD, MSc
SMAB, Grantee
Northwell Health
jherman1@northwell.edu

Peter Joel Hosein, MD
Precision Promise
University of Miami
phosein@med.miami.edu

Nino Katchiuri
Industry
Pfizer
nino.katchiuri@pfizer.com

Semmie Kim
Industry
Tyme
semmie.kim@tymeinc.com

Fengzhi Li, PhD
Grantee
Roswell Park Comprehensive Center
fengzhi.li@roswellpark.org

Sanjeev Luther
Industry
Rafael
Sanjeev.Luther@rafaelpharma.com

Karen Mann, PhD
Grantee
Moffitt Cancer Center
Karen.Mann@moffitt.org

Richard Mazurchuk, PhD
National Cancer Institute
richard.mazurchuk@nih.gov

Steven Merlin
Patient Research Advocate
PanCAN
smerlin@pancanvolunteer.org

Ibrahim Nassour, MD, MSCS
Researcher
University of Florida
ibrahimnassour@ufl.edu

Shannon Oda, PhD
Grantee
Seattle Children’s Research Institute, University of Washington
odas@uw.edu

Stephen Pandol, MD
Early Detection Initiative
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
stephen.pandol@cshs.org

Krushna Patra, PhD
University of Cincinnati
Grantee
patraka@ucmail.uc.edu

Leslie Pierce, MBA
Industry
Tempus
leslie.pierce@tempus.com

Yuliya Pylayeva-Gupta, PhD
Grantee
University of North Carolina
yuliyap1@email.unc.edu

Sherise Rogers, MD, MPH
Precision Promise
University of Florida
sherise.rogers@medicine.ufl.edu

Rosalie Sears, PhD
SMAB, Grantee
Oregon Health & Science University
searsr@ohsu.edu

Kenneth Shroyer, MD, PhD
Grantee
Stony Brook University
Kenneth.Shroyer@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Davendra Sohal, MD, MPH
Researcher
University of Cincinnati
sohalda@ucmail.uc.edu

Martha Suess
Patient Research Advocate
PanCAN
pcmzsuess@gmail.com

Jan M. Van Tornout, MD
Industry
Tyme
janmvantornout@tymeinc.com

Elliot Weinstein
Special Guest
PanCAN
elliot@eweinsteinlaw.com

Christopher Wolfgang, MD
Precision Promise
NYU Langone Health
christopher.wolfgang@nyulangone.org

Haoqiang Ying, MD, PhD
Grantee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
hying@mdanderson.org

Natalie Abrams, PhD
National Cancer Institute
natalie.abrams@nih.gov

Lisa Baertlein
Special Guest
PanCAN
lisabaertlein@yahoo.com

Gregory Beatty, MD, PhD
SMAB, Grantee, Precision Promise
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
gregory.beatty@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Richard Blish
Patient Research Advocate
PanCAN
richard.blish@gmail.com

Kirsten Bryant, PhD
Grantee
University of North Carolina
bryantkl@email.unc.edu

David Chang, MBBS, FRACS, PhD
Precision Promise
University of Glasgow
david.chang@glasgow.ac.uk

Suresh Chari, MD
SMAB, Early Detection Initiative
MD Anderson Cancer Center
stchari@mdanderson.org

Christine Chio, PhD
Grantee
Columbia University
ic2445@cumc.columbia.edu

Cosimo Commisso, PhD
Grantee
SBP Medical Discovery Institute
ccommisso@sbpdiscovery.org

Channing Der, PhD
SMAB, Grantee
University of North Carolina
cjder@med.unc.edu

Giulio Draetta, MD, PhD
Grantee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
gdraetta@mdanderson.org

Randi Ervin
Survivor Council
PanCAN
rervin@pancanvolunteer.org

Ziding Feng, PhD
Early Detection Initiative
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research
zfeng@fredhutch.org

Thomas George, MD, FACP
Precision Promise
University of Florida
thom.george@medicine.ufl.edu

Gillian Gresham, PhD
Grantee
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
gillian.gresham@cshs.org

William Hawkins, MD
Grantee, Precision Promise
Washington University
hawkinsw@wustl.edu

Manuel Hidalgo, MD, PhD
SMAB, Precision Promise
Weill Cornell Medicine
Mah4006@med.cornell.edu

Stacie Ittershagen, PhD
Industry
Novartis
stacie.ittershagen@novartis.com

Kay Kays
Patient Research Advocate
PanCAN
k.kays@cox.net

Alison Klein, MHS, PhD
SMAB
Johns Hopkins University
aklein1@jhmi.edu

Eva Lopez, MD
Industry
Novartis
eva.lopez@novartis.com

Sandra Mack
Survivor Council
PanCAN
Smack10@msn.com

Ann Martin
Patient Research Advocate
PanCAN
amartin@pancanvolunteer.org

Debbie McGarity
Industry
Ipsen
debbie.mcgarity@ipsen.com

Jeannine Mills, MS, RD, CSO, LD
SMAB
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
Jeannine.B.Mills@hitchcock.org

Deborah Norton
Industry
Novartis
deborah.norton@novartis.com

Charline Ogier, PhD
Grantee
Fox Chase Cancer Center
charline.ogier@fccc.edu

Walter Park, MD
Early Detection Initiative
Stanford
wgpark@stanford.edu

Gloria Petersen, PhD
SMAB, Grantee
Mayo Clinic
petersen.gloria@mayo.edu

Nicholas Pifani
Survivor Council
PanCAN
npifani@pancanvolunteer.org

Xiaoyang Qi, PhD
Grantee
University of Cincinnati
xiaoyang.qi@uc.edu

Vaibhav Sahai, MBBS, MS
Precision Promise
University of Michigan
vsahai@med.umich.edu

Brett Sheppard, MD
Grantee
Oregon Health & Science University
sheppard@ohsu.edu

Diane Simeone, MD
SMAB, Grantee, Precision Promise
Perlmutter Cancer Center/ NYU Langone Health
diane.simeone@nyumc.org

Sudhir Srivastava, PhD, MPH
Early Detection Initiative
National Cancer Institute
srivasts@mail.nih.gov

Margaret Tempero, MD
SMAB
University of California, San Francisco
mtempero@medicine.ucsf.edu

Victoria Waiyaki
Industry
Pfizer
victoria.waiyaki@pfizer.com

Catherine F. Whittington, PhD
Grantee
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
cfwhittington@wpi.edu

Bechien Wu, MD, MPH
Early Detection Initiative
Kaiser Permanente Southern California
Bechien.U.Wu@kp.org

Kenneth Zaret, PhD
Grantee
University of Pennsylvania
zaret@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Syed Ahmad, MD
Grantee
University of Cincinnati
ahmadsy@ucmail.uc.edu

Michael Barrett, PhD
Grantee
Mayo Clinic
barrett.michael@mayo.edu

Lisa Beckendorf
Survivor Council
PanCAN
lmbeckendorf@gmail.com

Vladimir Bogdanov, PhD
Grantee
University of Cincinnati
vladimir.bogdanov@uc.edu

Nathan Burger
Special Guest
PanCAN
nburger@pancanvolunteer.org

Erica Carpenter, MBA, PhD
Grantee
University of Pennsylvania
erical@upenn.edu

Yuan Chen, PhD
Grantee
University of California, San Diego
yuc020@ucsd.edu

E. Gabriela Chiorean
Precision Promise
University of Washington
gchiorea@outlook.com

Karen Cui, MD
SPARK
AstraZeneca
karenyongzhi.cui@astrazeneca.com

Jason Doles, PhD
Grantee
Mayo Clinic
doles.jason@mayo.edu

Anne-Marie Duliege, MD
Chief Medical Officer
PanCAN
aduliege@pancan.org

Daria Esterházy, PhD
Grantee
University of Chicago
desterhazy@bsd.uchicago.edu

Julie Fleshman, JD, MBA
President and CEO
PanCAN
jfleshman@pancan.org

Sharmistha Ghosh-Janjigian, PhD
National Cancer Institute
ghoshjanjigias@mail.nih.gov

Vineet Kumar Gupta, PhD
Researcher
University of Miami
vineetkgupta@med.miami.edu

Susan Hayes
Industry
Novartis
susan.hayes@novartis.com

Michael Hollingsworth, PhD
SMAB
University of Nebraska Medical Center
mahollin@unmc.edu

Aditi Jain, PhD
Grantee
Thomas Jefferson University
aditi.jain@jefferson.edu

Barbara Kenner, PhD
Board of Directors, Early Detection Initiative
Kenner Family Research Fund
drbken50@gmail.com

Brian Lewis, PhD
Grantee
University of Massachusetts
brian.lewis@umassmed.edu

Shannon Lubaczewski, PharmD, MS
Industry
Pfizer
shannon.lubaczewski@pfizer.com

Anirban Maitra, MBBS
SMAB, Grantee, Precision Promise, Early Detection Initiative
MD Anderson Cancer Center
amaitra@mdanderson.org

Lynn Matrisian, PhD, MBA
Chief Science Officer
PanCAN
lmatrisian@pancan.org

Nipun Merchant, MD
SMAB, Grantee, Precision Promise
University of Miami
nmerchant@miami.edu

Alexander Muir, PhD
Grantee
University of Chicago
amuir@uchicago.edu

Paul Oberstein, MD
Grantee, Precision Promise
Perlmutter Cancer Center / NYU Langone Health
paul.oberstein@nyulangone.org

Eileen O'Reilly, MD
SMAB, Precision Promise
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
oreillye@mskcc.org

Sameer Patel, MD
Researcher
University of Cincinnati
Patel5se@ucmail.uc.edu

Vincent Picozzi, MD
SMAB, Precision Promise
Virginia Mason
hemvjp@vmmc.org

Jason Pitarresi, PhD
Researcher
University of Pennsylvania
jasonpitarresi@gmail.com

Mustafa Raoof, MD, FACS
Grantee
Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope
mraoof@coh.org

Ashok Saluja, PhD
Early Detection Initiative
University of Miami
asaluja@miami.edu

Anne Shimabukuro
Survivor Council
PanCAN
anneshimabukuro@gmail.com

Ian Slepian
Special Guest
PanCAN
Ianastro2@gmail.com

Peter Storz, PhD
Grantee
Mayo Clinic
storz.peter@mayo.edu

Stephen Van Den Eeden, PhD
Early Detection Initiative
Kaiser Permanente Northern California
stephen.vandeneeden@kp.org

Wendy Wang, PhD, MSc
National Cancer Institute
wangw@mail.nih.gov

Gregory Wilson, MD
Researcher
University of Cincinnati
wilsong3@ucmail.uc.edu

Wantong Yao, MD, PhD
Grantee
MD Anderson Cancer Center
wyao2@mdanderson.org

Teresa Zimmers, PhD
Precision Promise
Indiana University
zimmerst@iu.edu

Follow us